#MotivationWednesday- “Dear Future Me.”

A few months ago, I heard this amazing song during a Black History Month showcase. The showcase offered a lot of insightful information and exciting features from some of the local youth talent. But my favorite part of the show came during a praise and worship performance from one of the local church’s youth department.

They danced to the song “Dear Future Me” and let me start by saying it was phenomenal. Everything from their choreography to the lyrics from the artist still resonate with me today. The song implied that a lot of what we are going through and suffering from will not compare to what the future you will have one day. I really liked that the song was about letting go and embracing the idea that we are going through has no purpose in following us into our futures.

As someone who battles tirelessly with the unknown, the song has been a great reminder that no matter the position I am in, I will come out on top in the end. As will you. My hope is that whenever you feel overwhelmed and tired please listen to this song and remember that He who created the stars and the mountains also created you. Tough times don’t last forever, tough people do.

-Cecil R.

Leave a comment