Finding My Passion.

As a little kid, we’re taught to follow our passion. We’re taught to invest our time into the things that bring us the most joy. We’re taught to be kids. But somewhere along the way, we lose sight of all of that. We learn to shrink our individuality for the sake of others comfortability. The art that we used to love is replaced with bland creations of the world. So, my question is how do we go back to being kids? How do we go back to being passionate about the things that used to bring us the most joy?

Here’s my take on it:

Learn to settle into the unknown. It helps you stir clear of complacency.

For the past few months, I’ve been pretty occupied with school. I entered my first year of graduate school back in August and it has been a time of deep thinking and learning things I thought I had a grasp on. It has been extremely beautiful to immerse myself in a setting that values perspective. This space that I have come to find myself in has been eccentric in the way I see the world.

One of my professors in particular has been pivotal in the way that I now process things. On my first day of class, I knew that she was someone who was going to change the way I saw the world. Her understanding of how things work and the way she conveys her message is something out of a movie. Every time she speaks, it was always so intriguing and authentic. One thing that has stuck with me since classes started, is the comment that she made about finding our passion. She said that our passion is something we love. It is something that when we think about it, it feels us with immense joy.

Believe it or not, I already knew that. But it took someone reiterating it to me for me to understand that I had lost my sense of passion. I had lost it in one of the worst kind of ways. The idea of what I was passionate about never really left me, but it did get stuck. I made excuses as to why I should not and could not focus on things that bring me the most joy. It was not until my professor made a comment about it that I realized that I needed to work on finding my drive again.

While I am still working out the kinks in my passion, I know the journey to understanding it is fully worth it. The experience as I’ve been told is the best part of the journey, so here’s to walking in the season of learning my passion and enjoying the path it takes me on. Let this be the path that allows us to grow, laugh, heal and learn. I am more than excited to follow my passion and see where it takes me.

Leave a comment